Alabama Quarterbacks Through The Years | University of Alabama Supply Store

Welcome to University of Alabama Supply Store

205-348-6168 Store Hours / Contact Us
skip to main content
lululemon available online Wednesday, September 14t, 2022

Alabama Quarterbacks Through the Years

Share this Image On Your Site

Alabama Quarterbacks Through the Years

Many Are Called, Few Are Chosen: Alabama Quarterbacks Through the Years

The University of Alabama is no stranger to extraordinary quarterbacks. Over the past few decades, our rich football tradition endured with excellence at the forefront. Check out these stats from some of our greatest starting quarterbacks.

Blake Sims (2014)
After setting the school record with 484 yards (including 39 total yards rushing), Sims led the Tide to victory at the 2014 SEC Championship. He was also named MVP that year. He threw 3,487 yards with 28 touchdowns, making the single season record.

AJ McCarron (2011-2013) McCarron has a history of winning back-to-back titles. He graduated as the career leader with 9,019 passing yards, 686 completions, and 77 touchdowns. In the Sugar Bowl's 80-year history, McCarron is the 12th quarterback to break 300 yards passing in the game. Since then, he's gone on to play for the Cincinnati Bengals, becoming the first University of Alabama quarterback to win an NFL game since Jeff Rutledge in 1987.

Greg McElroy (2009-2010) Fans remember McElroy for leading the team to an undefeated season (14-0) and winning the 2009 SEC Championship and BCS National Championship in his junior year. As sharp in the classroom as he is on the field, McElroy was named the ESPN Academic All-American of the Year in 2010. He was drafted by the NY Jets in 2011.

Brodie Croyle (2002-2005) Known for his drive, resiliency, and strong arm, Croyle made history several times at Alabama. He had the highest single-season total of passing yardage in the history of the school with 2,499 passing yards in 2005. Croyle also held the third best seasonal mark in the history of the school with 2,311 yards of total offense. His 1.18 interception percentage was the lowest single-season mark in school history. In 2006, he went on to play for the Kansas City Chiefs.

Jay Barker (1992-1994) Barker led Alabama to the 1992 national championships, defeating the Miami Hurricanes in the 1993 Sugar Bowl. After his career with the Crimson Tide, Barker was drafted by the Green Bay Packers and went on to play for the New England Patriots and Carolina Panthers.

Ken Stabler (1966-1967) Fondly nicknamed "The Snake," Ken Stabler was cerebral and focused on the field. He finished at Alabama with a 28-3-2 record as a starter. Stabler went on to lead the Raiders to their first Super Bowl victory at Super Bowl XI. On July 8, 2015, at the age of 69, he passed away. Stabler was elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on August 6, 2016.

Joe Namath (1962-1964) A legend on Alabama's campus and beyond, Joe Namath led the Crimson Tide to a national championship in 1961 and had a 29-4 record over three seasons. He was a first-round draft pick, and over the course of 13 years in the NFL, he played 143 games. Namath was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1985.

Quick Reads

Jake Coker (2015) ranked #4 in the SEC with 3,110 passing yards.

John Parker Wilson (2006-2008) holds the Alabama record for number of completions in a single-season (255). In 2008, he led Alabama to a 36-0 victory over Auburn.

Andrew Zow (1998-2001) is Alabama's 4th all-time passing leader with 5,983 yards.

Freddie Kitchens (1995-1997) finished his career at Alabama with 4,668 yards and 30 touchdown passes for the Crimson Tide. He is now the quarterback coach for the Arizona Cardinals.

Pat Trammell (1958-1961) led the Tide to its first national title under Bear Bryant.

Alabama Quarterbacks Through the Years [INFOGRAPHIC], Courtesy of The Supe Store